Badminton Entries Go Live with 7 North American Pairs

Michael Jung and La Biosthetique Sam FBW at Badminton 2016. Photo by Shannon Brinkman.

Hot off the presses! The entry list for the Mitsubishi Motors Badminton Horse Trials, May 2-6 in Gloucestershire, has just been released, and you’ll likely want to sit down before reading any further.

The stage is set for an epic showdown between 2017 winner Andrew Nicholson and Nereo and 2016 winner Michael Jung and La Biosthetique Sam FBW. We also have the 2014 winner returning in Sam Griffiths and Paulank Brockagh.

We have five U.S. combinations and two Canadian combinations entered:

Madeline Backus (USA) and her own P.S. Arianna 

Will Coleman (USA) and Four Star Eventing Group’s OBOS O’Reilly

Phillip Dutton (USA) and Tom Tierney, Simon Roosevelt & Caroline Moran’s Fernhill Cubalawn

Lauren Kieffer (USA) and Team Rebecca’s Veronica

Selena O’Hanlon (CAN) and John and Judy Rumble’s Foxwood High

Kathryn Robinson (CAN) and her own Let It Bee

Katie Ruppel (USA) and her own Houdini

Last year’s Burghley winner Oliver Townend is also entered with Ballaghmor Class and leads a very strong British contingent. Past winners Mark Todd and Paul Tapner are also entered, giving us a total of eight riders in the field who have previously won Badminton.

There are currently 14 combinations on the waitlist, including two past winning riders in William Fox-Pitt with Fernhill Pimms and Pippa Funnell with Billy Beware. William and Pippa have five Badminton wins between the two.

Click here to view the full entry list. Who will you be cheering on at Badminton? Let us know in the comments below!