New Zealand Names 2017 Eventing Squads

Mark Todd and NZB Campino. Photo by Leslie Threlkeld. Mark Todd and NZB Campino. Photo by Leslie Threlkeld.

Equestrian Sports New Zealand has announced its 2017 high performance eventing squads, with five lists included in a tiered squad structure focused on long term development and major international championship teams.

The High Performance Squad includes horse and rider combinations being aimed towards the 2018 World Equestrian Games in Tryon, NC. The High Performance Futures Squad consists of combinations that have proven three-star performances with the potential to medal on the international stage. These combinations are being aimed at the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games.

The Future Potential Recognition Group recognizes riders with the skill, knowledge and expertise to produce a horse to high performance level. These riders are actively training and competing horses of future potential but have not attained the performances required of the High Performance Squads. However, these riders may participate in select squad training sessions and events on targeted horses. Shoutout to U.S.-based Kiwi Joe Meyer for being named to the Future Potential Recognition Squad!

ESNZ’s Talent Development and Talent ID programs target New Zealand-based riders. The Future Potential Recognition, Talent Development and Talent ID Squads are listed here.

All but the Talent ID Squad, which is named only once a year, will be re-evaluated in June based on performances over the next several months.

The High Performance and High Performance Futures Squads are:

High Performance Squad

Sir Mark Todd – NZB Campino owned by New Zealand Bloodstock and Todd

Sir Mark Todd – Leonidas II owned by Diane Brunsden, Peter Cattell and Todd

Jonelle Price – Classic Moet owned by Trisha Rickards and Price

Jonelle Price – Faerie Dianimo* owned by Trisha Rickards, Jacky Green and Price

Tim Price – Ringwood Sky Boy owned by Robert Taylor, Varenna Allen, Price and

Tim Price – Bango owned by Numero Uno Syndicate

Blyth Tait – Bear Necessity V owned by Ronnie Bartlett and Tait

Clarke Johnstone – Balmoral Sensation owned by the Johnstone family

Caroline Powell – Onwards and Upwards owned by Cameron and Mary Crawford and Powell

High Performance Futures Squad

Jonelle Price – Cloud Dancer* owned by the Marley and Me Syndicate

Tim Price –  Xavier Faer owned by Trisha Rickards and Price

Sir Mark Todd – Kiltubrid Rhapsody owned by Niki Ryan and Dr Elizabeth Donald

Jesse Campbell – Cleveland owned by Jesse Campbell

Jesse Campbell – Amsterdam 21* owned by Gary Harding

Dan Jocelyn – Dassett Cool Touch owned by Therese Miller and Jocelyn

Jock Paget – Angus Blue owned by Joe Gianamore

*denotes current short-term injury

[Depth of Talent in Revised Eventing Squads]