Pau CCI4* Entry List Goes Live, Boyd Martin Sole U.S. Rider in Field

Boyd Martin and Welcome Shadow. Photo by Leslie Threlkeld. Boyd Martin and Welcome Shadow. Photo by Leslie Threlkeld.

EN has obtained the entry list for Les Etoiles de Pau CCI4*, and 52 total combinations representing 13 countries are currently entered to compete in France on Oct. 12-16.

Dual Olympic champion Michael Jung headlines the entries with two rides in back-to-back Kentucky winner fischerRocana FST, as well as reigning European champion fischerTakinou. Michael has won CCI4* events at Badminton, Burghley, Kentucky and Luhmühlen and will look to add Pau to his lengthy list of wins.

Last year’s Pau winner and Rio individual silver medalist Astier Nicholas will defend his title aboard Molokai in the horse’s four-star debut. Chris Burton, who is coming off a win at Burghley last month, will ride Adelaide winner TS Jamaimo.

Boyd Martin is the sole rider representing the U.S., competing both seasoned four-star campaigner Crackerjack, owned by Lucy Boynton Lie, as well as four-star first-timer Welcome Shadow, owned by Craig and Gloria Callen. The horses leave Windurra this morning with Mike Pendleton to make the trip to France.

While Jon Holling and Downtown Harrison appear on the entry list, Jon confirmed to EN this morning that he is withdrawing the horse.

Jon withdrew from their final prep run at Stable View last weekend when Downtown Harrison uncharacteristically stopped in show jumping warm-up, and he said the timing just isn’t right to make the trip. Instead, Downtown Harrison will re-route to the Ocala Jockey Club CIC3* over Thanksgiving weekend.

“I jumped him yesterday at home and he felt great. He just unfortunately scared himself in the warm-up at the event,” Jon said. ” It is a shame, but I obviously know this horse super well so I am confident he will be back on track shortly. I plan to run a couple horse trials between now and the Ocala Jockey Club event to get his confidence back up.”

Thirteen nations in all are represented on the entry list: Australia, Belgium, France, Germany, Great Britain, Ireland, Italy, New Zealand, Portugal, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland and the U.S.

Click here to see the full entry list.

[Pau CCI4* Entry List]