American Pharoah Ends 37-Year Triple Crown Drought With Belmont Win

Who cares that his name is misspelled? We don’t. The scientists couldn’t correctly predict that American Pharoah would end the 37-year Triple Crown drought, but we don’t need to put our a’s before o’s to be out of our minds excited about the fact that this horse conquered the mile and a half to become the first Triple Crown winner since Affirmed in 1978.

Just the 12th Triple Crown winner in American racing history, American Pharoah — trained by Bob Baffert and ridden by Victor Espinoza — won the Belmont Stakes in one of the largest margins in the race’s running, winning by 5 and 1/2 lengths over Frosted. Owner Ahmad Zayat dedicated the win to horse lovers all over the world.

He now joins the other famed Triple Crown winners: Sir Barton (1919), Gallant Fox (1930), Omaha (1935), War Admiral (1937), Whirlaway (1941), Count Fleet (1943), Assault (1946), Citation (1948), Secretariat (1973), Seattle Slew (1977) and Affirmed (1978).

Go American Pharoah!

[American Pharoah Wins Belmont Stakes and Triple Crown]