Kentucky CCI5*-L Entry List Goes Live with 52 Combinations

Last year’s winners Oliver Townend and Cooley Master Class are returned to defend their title. Photo by Leslie Threlkeld.

It’s the moment we’ve all been waiting for — the entry list for the 2019 Land Rover Kentucky Three-Day Event, presented by MARS Equestrian, has officially gone live! Entries closed on Tuesday, March 26, and all combinations that entered are not currently reflected on this list, but we still have a solid first look.

Last year’s winners, Oliver Townend and Cooley Master Class, will return to defend their title. Piggy French and Quarrycrest Echo, 2018 World Equestrian Games team gold medalists for Great Britain, will also cross the pond.

Last year’s Burghley winner, Tim Price, will look to keep his Rolex Grand Slam hopes alive with Xavier Faer. Two-time Adelaide CCI5*-L winners Hazel Shannon and Willingapark Clifford will lead the charge for Australia. Brazil’s Marcelo Tosi and Glenfly round out the international contingent thus far.

We also have five five-star first-timers entered in Dom Schramm and Bolytair B, Frankie Thieriot Stutes and Chatwin, Ariel Grald and Leamore Master Plan, Matt Flynn and Wizzerd, and Chris Talley and Unmarked Bills.

Phillip Dutton, the last American rider to win Kentucky in 2008, will return with his 2018 U.S. WEG team mount, Z. Boyd Martin will also ride his 2018 U.S. WEG team mount, Tsetserleg, along with Long Island T and Ray Price.

Caroline Martin has three horses entered in Danger Mouse, The Apprentice and Islandwood Captain Jack. Lauren Kieffer also has three entries in her 2018 WEG individual partner, VermiculusLandmark’s Monte Carlo; and Paramount Importance.

Buck Davidson has four horses entered but will have to choose three from Carlevo, Copper Beach, Jak My Style and Park Trader.

Click here to view the current entry list. Please note this is not the full entry list, so keep checking back to EN for updates.