Luhmühlen CCI5*-L Entries Go Live with Two American Pairs

Tim Lips and Bayro. Photo by Jenni Autry.

A total of 47 pairs are entered to compete in the Longines Luhmühlen CCI5*-L in Germany on June 13-16, including two American combinations.

Allie Knowles is entered with Sound Prospect LLC’s 17-year-old Thoroughbred Sound Prospect, who will be heading to Ireland first to contest the CCI4*-S at Tattersalls as his final prep run. Frankie Thieriot Stutes is also entered to make her CCI5*-L debut with The Chatwin Group’s 11-year-old Oldenburg Chatwin.

The majority of the German contingent will contest the Meßmer Trophy CCI4*-S instead of the CCI5*-L, as they typically do in a championship year. Luhmühlen will also host the 2019 FEI European Championships on Aug. 28-Sept. 1. Two-time Luhmühlen winner Andreas Dibowski will lead the German charge to reclaim the CCI5*-L title with FRH Butts Avedon.

The last six runnings of Luhmühlen have seen wins split equally between Germany and New Zealand. Tim Price joins Andreas as the only other past Luhmühlen winner in this year’s CCI5*-L field and will look to defend the title with Ascona M. Mark Todd is also entered with Kiltubrid Rhapsody.

Japan continues to show their strength on the world stage with three entries in the CCI5*-L, including Kazuma Tomoto with Brookpark Vikenti, who finished fifth at Boekelo last year.

Reigning Dutch National Champions Tim Lips and Bayro missed out on the Luhmühlen win last year due to a flag penalty on cross country and will return to Germany this year seeking redemption.

FEI World #7 Sam Watson has two rides entered for Ireland in Imperial Sky and Tullabeg Flamenco, who won the Ballindenisk CCI4*-S this spring.

Great Britain last won Luhmühlen in 2010 and will look for strong performances from Sarah Bullimore and Reve du Rouet, who finished fourth at Burghley last year, along with this year’s Belton winners Tom McEwen and Figaro van het Broekxhof. Tina Cook and Calvino II are also entered.

Other notable entries include Sam Griffiths and Paulank Brockagh for Australia.

Click here to view the full entry list.