Peter Barry Named to Canadian WEG Squad After Kathryn Robinson Found Ineligible

Peter Barry and Kilrodan Abbott at Rolex. Photo by Jenni Autry. Peter Barry and Kilrodan Abbott at Rolex. Photo by Jenni Autry.

Peter Barry and Kilrodan Abbott have been named to the Canadian World Equestrian Games squad after it was discovered that Kathryn Robinson was ineligible for selection, the Canadian Eventing Committee announced in a press release. Unfortunately, she did not declare herself as a candidate for selection prior to the mandatory deadline specified in the WEG selection criteria.

“Equine Canada regrets that this situation occurred but believes it is of paramount importance that all Equine Canada disciplines implement team selection processes that are consistent, fair and transparent,” the statement reads.

“More specifically, the Canadian Eventing Committee wishes to assure Ms. Robinson and all members of the public that her ineligibility for the 2014 WEG Team is, in no way, a reflection of Ms. Robinson’s capability or that of her horse, Let it Bee. The Committee would like to thank Ms. Robinson for her willingness to represent Canada and looks forward to her participation as a Canadian athlete in future Major Games.”

The Canadian WEG squad is now Peter Barry and Kilrodan Abbott, Hawley Bennett-Awad and Gin & Juice, Selena O’Hanlon and Foxwood High, and Jessica Phoenix and A Little Romance. The non-traveling alternates are Selena O’Hanlon and Bellaney Rock and Jessica Phoenix and Pavarotti.

[Canadian Eventing Committee Announces Correction to WEG Team]

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments