Stage Set for $15,000 Eventing Prix Invitational + Live Stream

Lauren Kieffer and Veronica at the 2014 Eventing Prix Invitational. Photo by Susan Merle-Smith. Lauren Kieffer and Veronica at the 2014 Eventing Prix Invitational. Photo by Susan Merle-Smith.

It’s go time for the second annual Eventing Prix Invitational at Southern Cross Equestrian here in Reddick, Florida, where eight teams made up of some of the top riders in the U.S. are set to do battle over Marc Donovan’s show jumping course with $15,000 in prize money on the line, generously sponsored by Ocala Horse Properties.

Things are heating up in in Florida — literally — with temperatures projected in the mid-80s today, and the best part is you can watch all the action live starting at 2 p.m. EST, when What’s Up Media will start live streaming at this link. We’ll also be bringing you play-by-play live updates here on EN and on Twitter.

Here’s how the format will go: All riders will be able to jump a 1.10-1.15 meter course between 10:30 a.m. and noon to get their bearings, and then the actual competition will start at 2:15 p.m. over 1.25-1.30 meter height. All riders will jump one round to determine the team winners.

Then the top 10 will jump off carrying their faults from the first round to determine the individual winner, with the top finishers splitting $15,000 in prize money. The prize money breakdown is as follows: Team — 1st place, $4,000; 2nd place, $2,000; 3rd place, $1,000; Individual — 1st place, $3,000; 2nd place, $2,000; 3rd place, $1,000; 4th place, $750; 5th place, $500; 6th-8th places, $250.

Sharn and Ashley Wordley are also sponsoring a Most Stylish Round Award, and Brewster Walker Horse Transport is sponsoring a Best Groom Award. Hannah Sue Burnett will join Graeme Thom in the VIP tent to provide color commentary all afternoon, and everyone who comes out to watch is invited to stay for the after party following the conclusion of the event.

Here’s the official order of go:

1. Meghan O’Donoghue and Pirate
2. Sinead Halpin and Forrest Nymph
3. Laine Ashker and Anthony Patch
4. Rachel McDonough and Irish Rhythm
5. Zach Brandt and Cavallino Cocktail
6. Holly Jacks-Smither and More Inspiration
7. Jennie Brannigan and Vamor
8. Phillip Dutton and Mr. Medicott
9. Caitlin Silliman and Catch A Star
10. Lynn Symansky and Donner
11. Joe Meyer and South Paw
12. Callie Evans and Glendening Avis
13. Ellie McPhail and True Dynamite
14. Selena O’Hanlon and Bellaney Rock
15. Kelly Prather and Blackfoot Mystery
16. Buck Davidson and Petite Flower
17. Lisa Barry and FIS Prince Charming
18. Liz Halliday-Sharp and Fernhill by Night
19. Sharon White and Wundermaske
20. Ian Roberts and Cooper Cove
21. Jacob Fletcher and Atlantic Domino
22. Cody Sturgess and Imperial Melody
23. Lillian Heard and Share Option
24. Kurt Martin and Anna Bella
25. Ellen Doughty and Sir Oberon
26. Lauren Kieffer and Czechmate
27. Sara Kozumplik Murphy and Catchascatchcan
28. Kyle Carter and Cooley Nothing Better B
29. Caroline Martin and Quantum Solace
30. Tik Maynard and Dutch Times
31. Michael Pollard and Cyrano
32. Boyd Martin and Crackerjack
33. Phillip Dutton and Mighty Nice
34. Boyd Martin and Master Frisky

Click here for the list of teams. U.S. Coach David O’Connor and Canadian Coach Clayton Fredericks each put together two teams from their U.S. and Canadian High Performance-listed riders — with the two U.S. High Performance teams split up as guys vs. girls. There is also a USEF Eventing 25 team. There has been just one change to the entry list we originally posted last week, with Lillian Heard taking Will Coleman’s spot.

Thank you to Ocala Horse Properties, Woodmen of the World, Dutta Corp, Southern Cross Equestrian, Antares, KER Sport Horse Nutrition, Station Hill Farm, Delbene Brothers Construction, Wordley Martin Equestrian Footings, Peak Performance Equestrian Services and Tryon International Equestrian Center for sponsoring the event.

If you’re in the Ocala area, please come out to Southern Cross, 13440 NW Highway 225, Reddick, to support these horses and riders! Food and drinks are available on the grounds. The warm-up class starts at 10:30 a.m., with the course walk at 1:15 p.m. and the event officially kicking off at 2 p.m. EST. See you there!