Which Dressage Tests Will You Ride Under the FEI’s New Star System?

Boyd Martin and Long Island T. Photo by Jenni Autry.

EN received a reader question asking which dressage tests will be used under the FEI’s new star system, which added a new one-star level at 1.05 meters and shifted all other levels up by one star beginning on Jan. 1, 2019.

The FEI introduced a new CCI* dressage test last year that will be used for all competitions running at this level. Note that the new CCI* level is unified and will not be split into separate short and long formats.

All of the former one-star tests will now become the two-star tests, with the former two-star tests becoming the three-star tests, former three-star tests becoming the four-star tests, and former four-star tests becoming the five-star tests.

In addition to introducing the new star system in 2019, the FEI has also replaced the collective marks for dressage with one singular mark for “overall impression of athlete and horse,” which is scored on a double coefficient.

There is also a new short test (3 1/2 minutes) that will be used at the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games.

Scroll down for links to all of the FEI dressage tests that will be used during the 2019 season.

CCIP – for Pony levels

CCI One-Star (*)

CCI Two-Star (**) – Test A

CCI Two-Star (**) – Test B (applies for Pony Championships / CCIP2*)

CCI Three-Star (***) – Test A

CCI Three-Star (***) – Test B

CCI Four-Star (****) – Test A

CCI Four-Star (****) – Test B

CCI Five-Star (*****) – Test A

CCI Five-Star (*****) – Test B

Olympic Games: new Short Test for Tokyo2020