All Pairs Accepted at Aachen CICO3* First Horse Inspection + Gallery

Kim Severson and Cooley Cross Border. Photo by Jenni Autry.

All 43 horses were accepted at the first horse inspection on a balmy afternoon here at CHIO Aachen in Germany. The ground jury of Martin Plewa (GER), Anne-Mette Binder (DEN) and Andrew Bennie (NZL) did not send a single horse to the holding box — smooth sailing for all pairs!

Aachen is not classified as a Nations Cup on the 2018 series calendar but is still running as a CICO3* team competition. There are 11 total nations represented in the field, with seven nations fielding teams for the CICO3*.

The U.S. team for Aachen is Will Coleman and OBOS O’ReillyBuck Davidson and CarlevoLauren Kieffer and Landmark’s Monte Carlo, and Kim Severson and Cooley Cross Border.

Buck Davidson and Carlevo. Photo by Jenni Autry.

The Germans are the defending champions for both the individual and team competition at Aachen and typically dominate here on home soil. German riders have won eight of the 11 runnings of the CICO3* — two wins apiece for Frank Ostholt, Michael Jung and Ingrid Klimke, plus one win for Sandra Auffarth.

Despite La Biosthetique Sam FBW and Opgun Louvo being withdrawn this week — both due to different hoof issues — Germany still has a strong team led by defending winners Ingrid Klimke and SAP Hale Bob OLD. Julia Krajewski is also a threat to challenge for the top of the leaderboard with 2017 Luhmühlen CCI4* winner Samourai du Thot and this year’s Bramham CCI3* winner Chipmunk FRH.

Lauren Kieffer and Landmark’s Monte Carlo. Photo by Jenni Autry.

New Zealand’s Andrew Nicholson and Australia’s Chris Burton are the only non-German riders to have ever won the event, with Chris winning in back-to-back years in 2012 and 2013.

Chris rides Saumur winner Quality Purdey this year and has the chance to become the first rider in history to win Aachen three times. Hailed the “Speed King” by EquiRatings due to his penchant for beating the clock, Chris is especially speedy at Aachen, having caught the optimum time in four of his six runs here.

Julia Krajewski and Samourai du Thot. Photo by Jenni Autry.

In short, this Aachen field is absolutely packed with quality. We also have last year’s Burghley winners Oliver Townend and Ballaghmor Class for Team GB, one of only five pairs to make the time at Aachen last year; 2017 Adelaide winners Clarke Johnstone and Balmoral Sensation and 2017 Boekelo winners Tim Price and Cekatinka for New Zealand; reigning Dutch National Champions Tim Lips and Bayro; and last year’s Bramham CCI3* winners Yoshi Oiwa and Calle 44 for Japan. Click here to view the full entry list.

You’re definitely going to want to keep it locked on EN for what is sure to be a thrilling two days of competition here at Aachen. Dressage starts at 8:30 a.m./2:30 a.m. EST tomorrow, followed by show jumping at 5:45 a.m./11:45 a.m. EST. Cross country is at 10 a.m./4 a.m. EST on Saturday. You can watch all of the action live on ClipMyHorse.TV.

Dressage ride times for our American pairs are:

  • Lauren Kieffer and Landmark’s Monte Carlo: 9:10 a.m./3:10 a.m. EST
  • Buck Davidson and Carlevo: 10:53 a.m./4:53 a.m. EST
  • Will Coleman and OBOS O’Reilly: 1 p.m./7 a.m. EST
  • Kim Severson and Cooley Cross Border: 2:43 p.m./8:43 a.m. EST

Click here to view the full list of ride times. Keep scrolling for more photos from the first horse inspection, and don’t forget to check EN’s Instagram for bonus photos from #CHIOAachen. Go Eventing.

CHIO Aachen Links: WebsiteEntries, Dressage Start TimesLive ScoringLive Stream, EN’s Coverage