Chattahoochee Hills, Virginia Horse Trials Selected as Future Intercollegiate Championship Host Sites

2018 USEA Intercollegiate Eventing Team Champions: Auburn Orange!

The USEA announced yesterday the the next two host venues of the USEA Intercollegiate Eventing Championship. The team Championship will move to Chattahoochee Hills in Fairburn, Georgia for 2019-2020. It will then return to Virginia Horse Trials in Lexington, Virginia for 2021-2022.

Chattahoochee Hills organizer Hugh Lochore has long supported the intercollegiate program, hosting team challenges well attended by Southern colleges and universities. The 2019-2020 Championship will be held during the Chattahoochee Hills May horse trials.

Virginia Horse Trials has hosted the Intercollegiate Championship for the first three years of the program, which saw participation grow from 10 teams in 2016 to 23 teams this year. After two years in Georgia, the Championship will return to Virginia for another two years during the Memorial Day weekend horse trials.

With a north to south rotation in mind, Virginia organizer Andy Bowles submitted a joint expression of interest with Hugh which was accepted by the USEA Board of Governors and USEA Intercollegiate Committee.

“The USEA Intercollegiate Eventing Championship competitor numbers have grown each and every year since its establishment,” said USEA CEO Rob Burk. “We feel privileged to be able to continue to grow this program at two beautiful facilities with proven organizing teams led by Hugh Lochore and Andy Bowles.

“We are seeing growing numbers of colleges and universities establish eventing clubs and teams across the country especially in the South, the Mid-Atlantic, the Midwest, and Southwest. The rotation from Georgia to Virginia should enable even more student athletes the opportunity to compete.”

Click here to learn more about the USEA Intercollegiate Program and here to read our coverage from the 2018 Intercollegiate Championship at Virginia Horse Trials.

[Future Venues Announced for the USEA Intercollegiate Eventing Team Championship]