Mark Your Calendars (Again): Revised 2021 Timetable Confirmed for Equestrian Events at Tokyo Olympics

Kazuma Tomoto & Tacoma D’Horset of Japan in the Ready Steady Tokyo Olympic Test Event. Photo by FEI/Yusuke Nakanishi.

An updated schedule of equestrian events for the Tokyo Olympics, which were postponed to 2021 in March, has confirmed by the Games’ organizing committee. For equestrian sport, the competition dates have been moved forward by one day so as to mirror the 2020 daily schedule; the events, which were originally due to start on Saturday, July 25 2020 and finish on Saturday, Aug. 8 2020, will now run from Saturday, July 24 2021 to Saturday, Aug. 7 2021. There are also some minor modifications to the starting times.

The new timetables for dressage, eventing and show jumping can be viewed here on the FEI’s Olympic hub page. The Tokyo 2020 Paralympic equestrian timetable will be announced in the coming weeks and subsequently published on the FEI’s dedicated Tokyo 2020 Paralympic hub page.

For eventing, we’ve converted all the times into both British Summer Time and Eastern Daylight Time – for its part, Japan hasn’t observed a change of clocks since 1951, which can lead to some confusion if you’re trying to work out a schedule on the fly. The times you’ll find below are all correct – but do be sure to take note of the dates we’ve listed, as time-zones in the U.S. will often find themselves watching each phase a day earlier than scheduled.

THURSDAY

First horse inspection: 31 July, 9.30 a.m. – 11.30 a.m. Tokyo time (31 July, 1.30 a.m. – 3.30 a.m. BST/30 July, 8.30 p.m. – 10.30 p.m. EDT)

FRIDAY

Dressage, day one (44 combinations): Morning session – 1 August, 8.30 a.m. – 11.00 a.m. Tokyo time (1 August, 00.30 – 3.00 a.m. BST/31 July, 7.30 p.m. – 10.00 p.m. EDT)

Afternoon session – 1 August, 5.30 p.m. – 8.10 p.m. Tokyo time (1 August, 9.30 a.m. – 12.10 p.m. BST/1 August, 4.30 a.m. – 7.10 a.m. EDT)

SATURDAY

Dressage, day two (21 combinations): 2 August, 8.30 a.m. – 11.00 a.m. Tokyo time (2 August, 00.30 a.m – 3.00 a.m. BST/1 August, 7.30 p.m. – 10.00 p.m. EDT)

SUNDAY

Cross-country: 3 August, 7.45 a.m. – 11.10 a.m. Tokyo time (2 August, 23.45 p.m. – 3 August, 3.10 a.m. BST/2 August 6.45 p.m. – 10.10 p.m. EDT)

MONDAY

Final horse inspection: 4 August, 9.30 a.m. – 11.00 a.m. Tokyo time (4 August, 1.30 a.m. – 3.00 a.m. BST/3 August, 8.30 p.m. – 10.00 p.m. EDT)

Showjumping (team final/individual qualifier): 4 August, 5.00 p.m. – 7.35 p.m. Tokyo time (4 August, 9.00 a.m. – 11.35 a.m. BST/4 August 4.00 a.m. – 6.35 a.m. EDT)

Showjumping (individual final): 4 August, 8.45 p.m. – 9.45 p.m. Tokyo time (4 August, 12.45 p.m. – 13.45 p.m. BST/4 August, 7.45 a.m. – 8.45 a.m. EDT)

The equestrian events will begin the day after the Games’ opening ceremony, which takes place in Tokyo on the 23rd of July. Dressage will be the first discipline up to bat, covering the 23rd-30th of July and followed immediately by the eventing competition (31st July – 4th August). Showjumping will close out the roster from the 5th-9th of August, followed by the closing ceremony on the 10th of August. Equestrian competition will take place at the Bajikoen Equestrian Park and the Sea Forest Cross Country venue.

Go Eventing.

 

Comments