Pan American Games to Return to Lima Peru in 2027

Boyd Martin and Tsetserleg (USA). Photo by Shannon Brinkman. [/caption]

Earlier this month, Extraordinary General Assembly of Panam Sports held a virtual vote following presentations by the Presidents of the Olympic Committees of Peru and Paraguay, both of whom were in the final running for selection as the hosts of the 2027 Pan American Games. The vote awarded the Games to Lima, Peru, which will be a return to the city after it last hosted the Pan Ams in 2019.

“I want to highlight the transparency of the process and the brotherhood of both nations that competed healthily for the right to host the 2027 Pan American Games. I want to congratulate Lima, all of Peru and the President of the Peruvian Olympic Committee, Renzo Manyari, for this tremendous achievement. A few years ago, they shook an entire continent with excitement and today, with more experience and spectacular infrastructure, they want to repeat or improve the success achieved in 2019,” said the President of Panam Sports, Neven Ilic.

“I also take this opportunity to congratulate Paraguay and its NOC President Camilo Perez. They are doing a great job with Paraguayan sport and their athletes, so my call is for them to continue growing and developing. They have a tremendous challenge ahead of them with the Junior Pan American Games in 2025, where I am sure they will be a great host for the entire continent,” he concluded.

Photo by Shannon Brinkman.

For his part, the President of the Peruvian Olympic Committee, Renzo Manyari, was emphatic in pointing out that, “We are happy about this triumph. We will work to make everyone’s experience the best they have ever had, and they have the absolute devotion of more than 33 million Peruvians. Thanks for trusting us. Thanks also to President Dina Boluarte and her unrestricted support for this candidacy. “Together We Win!”

The 2019 Pan Ams saw Boyd Martin crowned individual gold medalist with the Turner family’s Tsetserleg, leading Team USA to a team gold as well. The team also consisted of eventual Kentucky 5* winners Tamie Smith and Mai Baum, Doug Payne and Starr Witness, and Lynn Symansky and RF Cool Play.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments