This Week in Livestreams: Watch Bicton International on H&C TV!

Emily King gets cozy with the Bramham under-25 CCI4*-L trophy in 2018. Photo by Tilly Berendt.

We might not have a Bramham to look forward to this year, but thanks to the extraordinary efforts of Helen West and her team at Devon’s Bicton Arena, we’ll still be able to see those hugely important CCI4*-L, CCI4*-L for under-25s, and CCI4*-S classes play out this week – and boy, oh boy, are the entry lists seriously hot.

The CCI4*-S class acts as a selection trial for the British team Olympic longlist, Ben Hobday and Shadow Man II and Sarah Bullimore and Corouet, who are listed as reserves, will run in the CCI4*-L. Other notable combinations in the CCI4*-L include 2019 Badminton winners Piggy French and Vanir KamiraLaura Collett and Mr BassSarah Bullimore and her super-consistent five-star mount Reve du RouetEmilie Chandler and her CCI4*-L winner Gortfadda DiamondKitty King and the Burnham Market CCI4*-S winner Cristal Fontaine, and Imogen Murray and her seasoned campaigner Ivar Gooden.

The CCI4*-S class isn’t just about those longlisted British team riders – they’ll face stiff competition from the likes of Andrew Nicholson‘s Swallow Springs, who was third at Burghley in 2018 and fifth at Badminton in 2019, Piggy March‘s Brookfield Inocent, second at Pau last year, Laura Collett‘s Pau winner London 52Tom McEwen‘s 2018 Pau winner Toledo de Kerser, World Champions Ros Canter and Allstar BChris Burton‘s Blenheim eight- and nine-year-old winner Clever Louis, two-time Kentucky winners Oliver Townend and Cooley Master Class, European bronze medallists Cathal Daniels and Rioghan Rua, and Kevin McNab and his Kentucky sixth-placed Scuderia 1918 Don Quidam.

The final podium in Bramham’s 2019 CCIU254*-L: Yasmin Ingham, second, Cathal Daniels, first, and Will Rawlin, third. Photo by Tilly Berendt.

We’ll be looking at one of the hottest under-25 CCI4*-L sections we’ve ever seen as well, with reigning champion Cathal Daniels returning to fight for his throne with Sammy Davis Junior. Heading the home challenge is British under-25 champion Yasmin Ingham, who brings forward three rides in Night Line, Banzai du Loir, and Rehy DJ, while the on-form Bubby Upton rides Cola III and Cannavaro. Ireland’s Susie Berry has two rides in the class in John the Bull and Ringwood LB, and Felicity Collins brings forward her five-star ride – and the winner of last week’s Advanced at Little Downham – RSH Contend Or. France’s Barbara Sayous has made the long and tricky journey with Opposition Filmstar, marking a strong effort from the talented daughter of Pau organiser Pascal.

You can take a look at the full entry list here, and you’ll be able to watch every phase – including Wednesday and Sunday’s horse inspections – via Horse&Country TV. The broadcast schedules are as follows:

Wednesday

First horse inspection: 13.30 BST/8.30 a.m. EST

Dressage: 13.30 BST/8.30 a.m. EST

Thursday

Dressage stream one: 9.30 BST/4.30 a.m. EST

Dressage stream two: 10.45 BST/5.45 a.m. EST

Friday

Dressage stream one: 9.30 BST/4.30 a.m. EST

Dressage stream two: 10.45 BST/5.45 a.m. EST

Saturday

CCI4*-L Cross-Country: 9.00 BST/4.00 a.m. EST

CCI4*-S Showjumping: 10.00 BST/5.00 a.m. EST

Sunday

CCI4*-S Cross-Country: 10.00 BST/5.00 a.m. EST

CCI4*-L Showjumping: 10.00 BST/5.00 a.m. EST

We’ll be bringing you reports through the week on EN – roll on Bicton!

Comments