Equestrian Sport New Zealand Announces 2023 Eventing Squads

Tim Price and Falco help secure a medal for New Zealand in Pratoni. Photo by Tilly Berendt.

It’s a big year for Team New Zealand: after taking both team and individual bronze at the FEI World Eventing Championships at Pratoni, thus ending a long spate of slightly unfortunate luck at championships, they’ve got a year to focus wholly on building upon those foundations ahead of next year’s Olympic Games. With that in mind, they’ve revealed their first set of squad lists for 2023, which comprise six different groups and a number of seriously exciting horses and riders across the Northern and Southern Hemispheres.

The top-level squad, or the High Performance Squad, is a short but sweet line-up, consisting of just two riders and five horses. No bonus points if you can guess who those riders are: World Number One and Two Tim and Jonelle PriceĀ remain at the forefront of their country’s championship efforts. Their named horses on this squad are:

  • Grovine de Reve, owned by Therese Miller and Jonelle Price (Jonelle)
  • Grappa Nera, owned by the Grape Syndicate (Jonelle)
  • Falco, owned by Sue Benson and Tim Price (Tim)
  • Xavier Faer, owned by Trisha and Sophie Rickards and Tim Price (Tim)
  • Coup de Coeur Dudevin, owned by Jean-Luis Stauffer (Tim)

The High Performance Recognition Squad currently has no horses and riders listed, while the High Performance Futures Squad, which is designed to recognise and develop talent for future podium appearances, is jam-packed with talent. This list is as follows:

  • Amanda Pottinger and Just Kidding
  • Caroline Powell and Greenacres Special Cavalier
  • Clarke Johnstone and Aces High
  • Clarke Johnstone and Leopards Action
  • Clarke Johnstone and Menlo Park
  • Dan Jocelyn and Blackthorn Cruise
  • James Avery and One Of A Kind
  • Jesse Campbell and Diachello
  • Jonelle Price and McClaren
  • Maddy Crowe and Waitangi Pinterest
  • Matthew Grayling and Trudeau
  • Monica Spencer and Artist
  • Samantha Lissington and Ricker Ridge Sooty GNZ
  • Tim Price and Happy Boy
  • Tim Price and Vitali

A number of riders have been named to the High Performance Potential Squad, and will receive support and training across their strings to help them develop and hone their performances. These riders are:

  • Abigail Long
  • Bundy Philpott
  • Christen Lane
  • Ginny Thompson
  • Hollie Swain
  • Lauren Innes
  • Tayla Mason
  • Vicky Browne-Cole

Two riders have been named to the Talent Development Squad, and both are currently based in New Zealand:

  • Brittany Fowler
  • Charlotte Penny

And finally, eight New Zealand-based riders have been named on the Talent ID Squad:

  • Alena Dorotich
  • Bridie Quigley
  • Carys McCrory
  • Charlotte Treneary
  • Jasmyne Speake
  • Kelli Frewin
  • Lilly Anderson
  • MacKenzie Marlo

The lists will be reviewed and updated again in May/June of this year.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments