ERA of NA Announces 2019 Award Recipients

Sally Robertson and Vermiculus. Photo by JJ Sillman.

After fielding nominations for a variety of year-end recognition awards, the Eventing Riders Association of North America has announced recipients across all categories of awards. Please join us in congratulating the following award winners on their contributions and accomplishments within the eventing community, and many thanks to ERA of NA for providing special recognition opportunities for our sport.

Sally Robertson, head groom to Lauren Kieffer, is the winner of the 2019 Liz Cochran Memorial Groom’s Award recognizes an outstanding groom who has had a large influence on their rider’s career and the health and well-being of the horses under their care. Nominees should epitomize the example set forth by Liz Cochran in setting the standard for a professional groom. The winner receives a $5,000 grant.

“Sally has been a benefit to so many top riders’ programs and deserves the recognition of the hard work and dedication of her life to this sport, and the most important thing, the horses,” Lauren Kieffer said in an ERA press release.

Anita Antenucci takes home this year’s As You Like It Owner’s Award, which is awarded to an outstanding owner who has had a large influence on a rider’s career. Additionally, nominees will also be recognized for having made an exceptional contribution to the sport of eventing. Anita is recognized for her contributions to the sport of eventing and her support of Jan Byyny, Sharon White, and Nina Fout. As a part of this award, Anita will have the ability to select an event to receive a $5,000 donation from Sara Kozumplik Murphy and her longtime and supporter, Edy Ramieka.

Emily Holmes  is the recipient of the Seema Sonnad Above & Beyond Event Personnel Award, offered to an event organizer, secretary, volunteer or other staff members who throughout the year went “above and beyond.” Nominees will have carried out their work in a manner that notably improved the experience for those attending the event as competitors, owners, grooms, sponsors, or spectators.

Jon Holling summed up Emily’s dedication to the sport: ““Emily Holmes is the example of what an event organizer should be. She consistently goes out of her way to make certain that every competitor, both human and equine, has every opportunity to compete at their best. From footing to course presentation no stone is left unturned. I can’t say thank you enough to Emily for being a true competitor’s organizer.”

Last but certainly not least, Amanda Chance receives the Amateur Impact Award. This award recognizes an Adult Amateur that embodies dedication to the sport of eventing, outstanding sportsmanship and has made a direct impact on eventing in North America. The recipient of Amateur Impact Award is an individual that is highly respected by their peers, has demonstrated leadership within the sport and seeks to see eventing continue to grow and flourish. Amanda was nominated for her ongoing commitment to both improving and sustaining the sport through the support of U.S. breeding programs.

[ERA of NA Honors 2019 Year End Award Recipients]