Hooray for Herning: How to Follow the FEI World Championships for Jumping, Dressage, Para-Dressage, and Vaulting

We let Chinch watch the dressage, and now he won’t stop asking for an orange tailcoat.

While we’ve still got six weeks to go until the FEI World Championships for Eventing kicks off in Pratoni, we’re hardly short of action on the global stage in the meantime — and this week, all eyes turn to Herning in Denmark, where the World Championships for dressage, para-dressage, vaulting, and showjumping are about to get underway. Most of this week is devoted to settling horses in, training and familiarisation sessions, and horse inspections, and from Saturday, the action will kick off in earnest with the dressage team Grand Prix.

Here’s a look at how the schedule will work for each day of competition at Herning:

SATURDAY, AUGUST 6

11.00 a.m. local time (10.00 a.m. BST/5.00 a.m. EST): FEI World Team Dressage Grand Prix Championship, followed by individuals

SUNDAY, AUGUST 7

10.00 a.m. local time (9.00 a.m. BST/4.00 a.m. EST): FEI World Vaulting Female Championship — Individual Female First Round Technical Test

11.00 a.m. local time (10.00 a.m. BST/5.00 a.m. EST): FEI World Team Dressage Grand Prix Championship, followed by individuals

3.00 p.m. local time (2.00 p.m. BST/9.00 a.m. EST): FEI World Vaulting Male Championship — Individual Male First Round Technical Test

6.00 p.m. local time (5.00 p.m. BST/12.00 p.m. EST): FEI World Vaulting Pas-De-Deux Championship — Pas-De-Deux First Round Freestyle Test

8.oo p.m. local time (7.00 p.m. BST/2.00 p.m. EST): FEI World Dressage Championship — Grand Prix medal ceremony

MONDAY, AUGUST 8

8.30 a.m. local time (7.30 a.m. BST/2.30 a.m. EST): FEI World Vaulting Female Championship — Individual Female First Round Freestyle Test

1.00 p.m. local time (12.00 p.m. BST/7.00 a.m. EST): FEI World Vaulting Male Championship — Individual Male First Round Freestyle Test

1.30 p.m. local time (12.30 p.m. BST/7.30 a.m. EST): FEI World Dressage Championship — Individual Grand Prix Special

3.30 p.m. local time (2.30 p.m. BST/9.30 a.m. EST):FEI World Vaulting Squad Championship — Squad Round Freestyle Test, followed by medal ceremony for squad, female, and male individuals

8.oo p.m. local time (7.00 p.m. BST/2.00 p.m. EST): FEI World Dressage Championship — Grand Prix Special medal ceremony

WEDNESDAY, AUGUST 10

8.30 a.m. local time (7.30 a.m. BST/2.30 a.m. EST): FEI World Para Dressage Individual Championship — Grade IV

11.00 a.m. local time (10.00 a.m. BST/5.00 a.m. EST): FEI World Team & Individual Jumping Championship — First Competition – Speed

11.00 a.m. local time (10.00 a.m. BST/5.00 a.m. EST): FEI World Vaulting Pas-De-Deux Championship — Pas-De-Deux Final Round Freestyle Test

12.15 p.m. local time (11.15 a.m. BST/6.15 a.m. EST): FEI World Para Dressage Individual Championship — Grade II, followed by Grade IV and Grade II medal ceremonies

1.00 p.m. local time (12.00 p.m. BST/7.00 a.m. EST):FEI World Official Nations Team Vaulting Championship — Nations Team, followed by medal ceremony for Pas de Deux and Nations Team

3.30 p.m. local time (2.30 p.m. BST/9.30 a.m. EST): FEI World Para Dressage Individual Championship — Grade I

5.00 p.m. local time (4.00 p.m. BST/11.00 a.m. EST): Para Dressage Medal Ceremony for Grade I

8.oo p.m. local time (7.00 p.m. BST/2.00 p.m. EST): FEI World Dressage Grand Prix Freestyle Championship

11.00 p.m. local time (10.00 p.m. BST/5.00 p.m. EST): Dressage Grand Prix Freestyle Medal Ceremony

THURSDAY, AUGUST 11

1.00 p.m. local time (12.00 p.m. BST/7.00 a.m. EST): FEI World Team Jumping Championship – Round 1, followed by FEI World Jumping Championship — Individual – Second Competition – Round 1

2.00 p.m. local time (1.00 p.m. BST/8.00 a.m. EST): FEI World Para Dressage Individual Championship — Grade III

5.30 p.m. local time (4.30 p.m. BST/11.30 a.m. EST): FEI World Para Dressage Individual Championship — Grade V, followed by medal ceremonies for Grade III and Grade V

FRIDAY, AUGUST 12

11.00 a.m. local time (10.00 a.m. BST/5.00 a.m. EST): FEI World Para Dressage Team Championship — Grade IV

2.45 p.m. local time (1.45 p.m. BST/8.45 a.m. EST): FEI World Para Dressage Team Championship — Grade II

5.20 p.m. local time (4.20 p.m. BST/11.20 a.m. EST): FEI World Para Dressage Team Championship — Grade I

9.oo p.m. local time (8.00 p.m. BST/3.00 p.m. EST): FEI World Team Jumping Championship — Round 2, followed by Individual — Second Competition – Round 2

11.30 p.m. local time (10.30 p.m. BST/5.30 p.m. EST): Jumping Team Medal Ceremony

SATURDAY, AUGUST 13

11.00 a.m. local time (10.00 a.m. BST/5.00 a.m. EST): FEI World Para Dressage Team Championship — Grade III

2.20 p.m. local time (1.20 p.m. BST/8.20 a.m. EST):FEI World Para Dressage Team Championship — Grade V

8.3o p.m. local time (7.30 p.m. BST/2.30 p.m. EST): Para Dressage Medal Ceremony — Teams

SUNDAY, AUGUST 14

9.00 a.m. local time (8.00 a.m. BST/3.00 a.m. EST): FEI World Para Dressage Individual Championship — Grades IV, II & I

11.30 a.m. local time (10.30 a.m. BST/5.30 a.m. EST): Para Dressage Medal Ceremony for Grade VI, II & I

2.00 p.m. local time (1.00 p.m. BST/8.00 a.m. EST): FEI World Jumping Championship — Final Individual – Third Competition

2.15 p.m. local time (1.15 p.m. BST/8.15 a.m. EST): FEI World Para Dressage Individual Championship — Grades V & III

4.30 p.m. local time (3.30 p.m. BST/10.30 a.m. EST): FEI World Jumping Championship Individual medal ceremony

5.10 p.m. local time (4.10 p.m. BST/11.10 a.m. EST): Para Dressage Medal Ceremony for Grade V & III

HOW TO WATCH

No matter where you are in the world, you’ve got plenty of options for following along with all the action. The primary live-stream provider for the entirety of the event will be FEI TV, which has been absorbed into ClipMyHorse.TV. They’ll provide wall-to-wall livestreams, plus almost immediate on-demand viewing options, across the disciplines, though you will need to take out a subscription or a trial membership to access their coverage. (They’ll also be in charge of the streams from Pratoni, so it’s well worth getting your account sorted now so you’re prepared for the busy autumn season!)

There are a number of non-championship classes going on throughout Herning, too, including small-tour dressage and showjumping classes, and you can sign up to ZibraSport Equest to keep up with these, plus watch masterclasses and Riders Corner interview segments daily.

There’s currently no plan for any of the disciplines to be shown on the BBC’s Red Button service as they have done in previous years, though representatives for the service have said that this could change as we get closer to the start of the action. Keep this page bookmarked and we’ll be sure to update you with any additional coverage options that become available.

Comments