Jess Hargrave Heads Up Galway Downs CCI2*

Jess Hargrave and Regenmann at Galway Downs in 2017. Photo by Shelby Allen.

Jess Hargrave is all smiles after a division leading dressage test in the CCI2* with Regenmann, a horse who she once dismissed as, “too spooky to be a pure dressage horse.” The pair pulled off a 27.1 to top the 10-entry class.

“He just keeps getting better and better and I’m continuously so blessed, so thankful, and so beyond grateful for this ride,” Jess said of the 11-year-old Trakehner.

The division performed for judges Mark Weissbecker and Bea di Grazia Thursday, which gave Jess an extra day to assess the cross country challenge, which is designed by Jay Hambley and Bert Wood. “It’s big!” she said. ““With a lot of combinations early on. So, this is not going to be a dressage competition!”

Madison Temkin and her own Dr. Hart are second on a 32.70 — a personal best for this pair. “It’s the most rideable he’s ever been,” she said. “He’s really coming into his own and maturing,” she said.

Great Britain’s James Alliston sits third with a 34.6 with with the pocket-sized Pandora. “She can be a bit buzzy, but she can do it all, it’s just a matter of having her relaxed. She’s small but she has a big jump and lots of talent,” he said.

Charlotte Babbitt and 2 A.M. Photo by Kim F Miller.

Megan Noelle Skyes and Charlotte Babbit share the spotlight in the CCI* after identical dressage scores of 25 with their horses Classic’s Mojah and 2 A.M., respectively.

Megan and “Mo” look for a second one-star victory this weekend after they topped the competitive CCI* at Rebecca Farm this summer. The 9-year-old Oldenburg glided easily in the sandbox — he was a full time dressage horse earlier in his life under Steffen Peters’ tutelage, and Megan brought him over to the dark side three years ago.

Charlotte is also on a hot streak as her and “Abe,” earned a recent CIC* win at Woodside just last month.

Galway Downs has introduced a number of amenities this year, including the brand new Grand Prix area, which brings an entirely new level of atmosphere to the southern California venue.

You can watch the the cross country action live this weekend thanks to Ride On Video. Find the live stream schedule below:

Saturday — Cross Country
8:40 a.m. PST/11:40 a.m. EST Training 3-Day
10:50 a.m. PST/ 1:50 p.m. EST  CCI2*
12:10 p.m. PST/3:10 p.m. EST  CCI1*

Sunday — Show Jumping
10:00 a.m. PST/1 p.m. ESTTraining 3-Day
11:30 a.m. PST/ 2:30 p.m. EST CCI1*
2:00 p.m. PST/5 p.m. EST CCI2*

Galway Downs CCI & H.T.: WebsiteEntry StatusRide TimesLive Scores

Comments