Longines Luhmühlen CCI5* Entry Preview: World #1 and #2 Joined by Strong U.S. Contingent

Felix Vogg and Colero, Luhmühlen winners in 2022. Photo by Tilly Berendt.

Hold onto your hats, CCI5* season is just getting underway!

Next up on the 2023 5* tour is the German stop, Longinues Lumühlen Horse Trials, located in northern Germany just to the south of Hamburg. A strong entry list for both the headlining 5* as well as the complementing CCI4* has just been revealed, featuring members of the reigning Olympic and World Championship gold medal-winning teams, the reigning individual World Champion, the reigning individual Olympic gold medalist, as well as a strong contingent from the U.S across both divisions.

View the full CCI5* and CCI4* entry list here.

Tamie Smith and Solaguayre California. Photo by Shannon Brinkman Photography.

It’s a juicy one, and some notable highlights from the 5* list include:

  • 2022 Luhmühlen winners Felix Vogg (SUI) and Colero
  • A heavy threat from Great Britain, lead by Tokyo and Pratoni team members Laura Collett (London 52, Dacapo), Yasmin Ingham (Rehy DJ),  and Oliver Townend (As Is, Tregilder, Cooley Rosalent). Other contenders include Kitty King and Vendredi Biats, rerouting after an unlucky tumble at Badminton, Pippa Funnell with 2019 Burghley winner MGH Grafton Street as well as Billy Walk On.
  • A new 5* ride features for world #2 rider Jonelle Price (NZL), who takes the reins on former Cathal Daniels ride L.E.B. Lias Jewel. This 13-year-old Irish mare by Limmerick has contested the 2021 European Championships in Avenches as well as started this event in 2022 with Cathal, but will be seeking a first 5* completion this weekend.
  • World #1 Tim Price brings forward his 2022 Boekelo winner, the 11-year-old KWPN gelding Happy Boy, who despite his 5*-debutant status is a serious threat to finish the weekend on a mid-20s dressage mark.
  • A strong showing from the U.S., with six riders including recent Kentucky 5* champion Tamie Smith, who brings forward the Guariglia’s Solaguayre California for a debut at the level, and Boyd Martin with the Annie Goodwin Syndicate’s Fedarman B. Boyd has also re-routed Tokyo and Pratoni partner Tsetserleg TSF (the Turner family) after an early penalty pick-up on cross country at Kentucky and has also entered Luke 140. These riders are joined by Katherine Coleman on 5* debut horse RLE Limbo Kaiser, Sydney Elliott and QC Diamantaire, and Matt Flynn and Wizzerd.
  • The U.S. will also have representatives in the 4*: Dan Kreitl and Carmango will use their free flight from Dutta Corp. earned at last year’s USEF National 4*-L Championship, accompanied by Hallie Coon and Cute Girl.
  • While we won’t be joined by German heavy hitters such as Michael Jung or Ingrid Klimke in the 5*, we will see both riders as well as reigning Olympic gold medalist Julia Krajewski in the CCI4*, which is also used as the German National Championship division. 2022 Kentucky winner fischerChipmunk FRH, who is being saved for Paris this season and will focus primarily on short-format events with Michael, will feature in this division.

Tim Price and Happy Boy. Photo by Tilly Berendt.

The CCI5* entry list is as follows:

Australia Kevin McNab Scuderia 1918 Don Quidam
Scuderia 1918 capital srl & Emma McNab
Australia Will Levett Huberhus AC
Elisabeth Murdoch, Keith Tyson & Rider
Belgium Seppe Vilain Kawa de la Cour Z Steve Vilain
Brazil Marcio Carvalho Jorge Kilcoltrim Kit Kat
Helen & Alistair Mordaunt, Annabel & Alistair Vere Nicoll
Ecuador Nicolas Wettstein Meyer’s Happy
Monique Deyme, Frank Wettstein & Rider
France Florian Ganneval Blue Bird de Beaufour Rider
France Gireg Le Coz Caramel d’Orchis Rider
France Cedric Lyard Unum de’Or
Marie-Christine Duroy-de Lauriere & Rider
France Arthur Marx Church’Ile Philippe Marx
Great Britain Philip Brown Harry Robinson Orbit Electrical Services Ltd.
Great Britain Sarah Bullimore Corquet
Kew Jumping Syndicate, Brett Bullimore & Rider
Great Britain Kirsty Chabert Opposition Loire Daisy Chain Syndicate & Rider
Great Britain Emelie Chandler Gortfadda Diamond Maria Doel
Great Britain Laura Collett Dacapo
Diana Chappell, Gillian Morris-Adams, Alison & Michael Smedley & Carolyn Taylor
Great Britain Laura Collett London 52 Keith Scott, Karen Bartlett & Rider
Great Britain David Doel Ferro Point Christine & Hannah Lees & Molly Nunn
Great Britain Pippa Funnell Billy Walk On Barbara & Nicholas Walkingshaw
Great Britain Pippa Funnell MGH Grafton Street Jane & Jonathan Clarke
Great Britain Xanthe Goldsack Hi Tech Rider
Great Britain Matthew Heath Askari Plum Rowland
Great Britain Yasmin Ingham Rehy DJ The Sue Davies Fund
Great Britain Tom Jackson Farndon Anne & Lain Slater
Great Britain Fiona Kashel Creevagh Silver de Haar Fiona Breach
Great Britain Emily King Valmy Biats Philippe Brivois
Great Britain Kitty King Vendredi Biats
Diana Brown, Sally Lloyd Baker, Sally Eyre & Samantha Wilson
Great Britain Harry Meade Cavalier Crystal Charlotte Opperman
Great Britain Harry Meade Red Kite Nigella Hall & Alexandra Robinson
Great Britain Selina Milnes Iron Angela & William Rucker
Great Britain Imogen Murray Roheryn Ruby MS Team, Kim Pengelly & Fran Reeve
Great Britain Will Rawlin The Partner Miranda & Andrew Rawlin & Rider
Great Britain Kylie Roddy Carden Earl Grey Earl Grey Tea Party-Goers
Great Britain Izzy Taylor Happy Days
Alex Colquhoun, Lavinia Taylor & Caroline Wilson
Great Britain Izzy Taylor Monkeying Around Mark Sartori & Rider
Great Britain Oliver Townend As Is John Peace
Great Britain Oliver Townend Cooley Rosalent Paul W. Ridgeon
Great Britain Oliver Townend Tregilder The Hazeldines & Mitchell Fox Group
Ireland Susannah Berry Monbeg by Design Helen Caton
Ireland Declan Cullen Seavaghan ASH Becky Cullen
Ireland Felicity Ward Regal Bounty James O’Callagham
Japan Ryuzo Kitajima Feroza Nieuwmoed Riding Club Crane
New Zealand Muzi Pottinger Just Kidding Pottinger Family
New Zealand Jonelle Price L.E.B. Lias Jewel Jo Breheny
New Zealand Tim Price Happy Boy Susan Lamb & Therese Miller
Switzerland Felix Vogg Colero Jürgen Vogg
USA Katherine Coleman RLE Limbo Kaiser Rider
USA Sydney Elliott QC Diamantaire Carol Stephens
USA Matthew Flynn Wizzerd
Kathleen & A. Patrick Flynn & Merry Go Round Farm
USA Boyd Martin Fedarman B Annie Goodwin Syndicate
USA Boyd Martin Tsetserleg TSF Christine, Thomas Iv & Tommie Turner
USA Tamra Smith Solaguayre California Julianne & David Guariglia
Germany Nicolai Aldinger Timmo Jutta & Michael Spethmann
Germany Arne Bergendahl Luthien Helmut Bergendahl
Germany Emma Brüssau Dark Desire GS Jürgen Brüssau
Germany Jerome Robine Black Ice Dorothea von Zedtwitz

Action for Longines Luhmühlen will begin on Wednesday, June 15 with the first horse inspection. All action will be live-streamed on H&C+ with a subscription or a one-time event viewing pass. Tilly Berendt will be our reporter on the ground, and we’ll have much more coming your way from Germany very soon.

Go Eventing.

Longines Luhmühlen: [Website] [Entries] [Timetable] [Live Stream]

EN’s coverage of Longines Luhmühlen Horse Trials is brought to you with support from Kentucky Performance Products.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments