New Zealand Announces 2019 High Performance Squads

Jonelle Price and Faerie Dianimo on their way to winning Luhmühlen 2018. Photo by Jenni Autry.

Equestrian Sports New Zealand has announced the 2019 High Performance Squads for eventing. Sir Mark Todd and Tim Price both have four horses named to the squads. Cekatinka, Tim’s 2018 World Equestrian Games mount, and Wesko, who returned to FEI competition following a lengthy hiatus last year, are both notably absent.

Four riders with nine horses between them were named to the High Performance Squad, which “comprises horse and rider combinations committed to and capable of contributing to a podium team placing at the 2020 Olympic Games.”

2019 ESNZ High Performance Squad:

  • Clarke Johnstone and Balmoral Sensation, owned by the Johnstone Family
  • Jonelle Price with Classic Moet, owned by the rider and Trisha Rickards, and Faerie Dianimo, owned by the rider, Trisha Rickards and Jacky Green and
  • Sir Mark Todd with NZB Campino, owned by the rider and New Zealand Bloodstock; Leonidas II, owned by the rider, Diane Brunsden, Peter Cattell and Sir Mark Todd; Kiltubrid Rhapsody, owned by Dr. Elizabeth Donald and Niki Ryan; and McClaren, owned by David and Katherine Thomson
  • Tim Price and Ringwood Sky Boy, owned by the rider, Robert Taylor, Varenna Allen and, and Bango, owned by the Numero Uno Syndicate

Tim Price also has two horses named to the High Performance Futures Squad, which “consists of those combinations that are knocking on the door to high performance,” alongside five other combinations.

2019 ESNZ High Performance Futures Squad:

  • Amanda Pottinger and Just Kidding, owned by the Pottinger Family
  • Blyth Tait and Havanna, owned by Katherine Corich, Jane Lovell-Smith and John Ormiston
  • Dan Jocelyn and Grovine de Reve, owned by the rider and Therese Miller, Jo Preston-Hunt and Philip Hunt
  • Caroline Powell and On The Brash, owned by Sarah Tobey and Sue Smiley
  • Jesse Campbell and Amsterdam 21, owned by Dr. Craig Campbell
  • Tim Price and Xavier Faer, owned by the rider, Trisha Rickards and Nigella Hall, and Ascona M, owned by Suzanne Houchin, Lucy and Ben Sangster and Sir Peter Vela

A further 10 riders were named to the High Performance Potential Squad, which “is aimed as recognizing talented eventing riders that are capable of and committed to producing high performance horses for future Olympic Games and World Equestrian Games.”

2019 ESNZ High Performance Potential Squad:

  • Abby Lawrence
  • Buddy Philpott
  • Donna Edwards-Smith
  • Ginny Thompson
  • Hayley Frielick
  • James Avery
  • Joe Meyer
  • Monica Oakley
  • Nick Brooks
  • Samantha Felton Lissington

[Tokyo Olympic Games Drives Eventing High Performance Squad Changes]