Your Ultimate Guide to the 2020 Goresbridge ‘Go for Gold’ Select Event Horse Sale

Image courtesy of Goresbridge Go for Gold.

We’re just a few days removed from the COVID-modified Goresbridge ‘Go for Gold’ Select Event Sale in Wexford, Ireland. Each year, quality event prospects hand-selected by a discerning board of selectors (Sally Parkyn, Clare Ryan, Chris Ryan, Nicky Roncoroni and Bridget Speirs) is presented to a slew of prospective buyers. Each horse has vet records and basic radiographs included, making this sale a true “one-stop shop” for those in the market for quality.

This year, due to the COVID-19 restrictions around the world, the organizing team of Martin and Mary Frances Donahoe has modified the sale to allow virtual bidding as well as provide a live stream of the horse preview and sale. There is a wide selection of 66 horses available this year, and there is truly a suitable match for any type of rider looking for a prospect here. If this is your first time dipping a toe into the auction world, allow our handy guide to provide the information you need to get started.

What’s happening and when?

The actual auction will happen at 3 p.m. GMT / 10 a.m. EST on Tuesday, December 8. But before the action begins, each horse will be ridden to show its skills on the flat and over fences. This preview will show all horses over the age of 3 on the flat, over fences, and on cross country. The three-year-old horses will free jump for viewers on Tuesday. Here is the schedule of events:

Monday, December 7

  • 10:30 a.m. GMT / 5:30 a.m. EST: Lots 1-24 shown on the flat and over fences in numerical order.
  • 1:00 p.m. GMT / 8:00 a.m. EST: Lots 1-24 shown over cross country in numerical order.

Tuesday, December 8

  • 9:30 a.m. GMT / 4:30 a.m. EST: Lots 25-68 free jumped in numerical order.
  • 3:00 p.m. GMT / 10:00 a.m. EST: Auction begins

Each of these events will be live streamed on the Goresbridge website here.

Can I see the horses ahead of the live stream?

Definitely. Each horse has conformation photos and full performance videos uploaded in numerical order here.

Can I see the horse’s pre-sale exam results and radiographs?

Each horse admitted into the sale will have had a full five-stage exam prior to the sale. A basic set of radiographs (front leg, front fetlocks, hind fetlocks, hocks, stifles, dorsal spinous processes) will have also been taken and the resulting records are available to be sent to a prospective purchaser’s veterinarian on request. We highly recommend contacting the Goresbridge office to arrange any record viewing ahead of time to save time on auction day.

How do I bid on a horse?

If you plan to bid, you’ll need to register ahead of time here. Bidders can take advantage of telephone bidding (Office: +35359 9775145 or Martin Donahoe: +353 87 2569496) and online bidding through the neatly organized portal that can be accessed here.

What forms of payment are accepted?

Credit and debit card payments (American Express, Visa, Maestro, and Laser Debit) will be accepted with no surcharge. Bank transfers are also available, as are cash payments for those attending in person. For those wishing to pay by check, a letter certifying the maximum amount by the purchaser’s bank must be acquired and forwarded to the Bank of Ireland. For more details on this, please see page 6 of the catalog here.

How do I arrange transportation for my horse?

The Goresbridge team has also collaborated with several transportation providers who will be available to set up arrangements upon purchase of a horse. You can start this process by either contacting the Goresbridge office or by contacting the transport companies listed in the catalog here.

Happy Shopping! Go Eventing.

Comments