17 Nations to Contest FEI Eventing European Championships

Photo by Thomas Ix, courtesy of Luhmühlen.

Yesterday 17 national federations declared their entries for the Longines FEI Eventing European Championships, to be held Aug. 28-Sept. 1 in Luhmühlen. They are as follows:

• Austria
• Belgium
• Czech Republic
• Denmark
• Finland
• France
• Germany
• Great Britain
• Hungary
• Ireland
• Italy
• Netherlands
• Norway
• Poland
• Spain
• Sweden
• Switzerland

The national federations have already named riders and horses but were able to name twice or even three times as many starters as will actually be able to compete at Luhmühlen. The federations will send the definite entries, with finalized horse-rider combinations, on Monday, August 12.

As the host nation Germany will be able to nominate 12 riders; all other federations will nominate six.

In its 60 years of hosting three-day events, Luhmühlen has hosted five European Championships (1975, 1979, 1987, 1999 and 2011), as well as World Equestrian Games in 1982.

The officials have been selected for the Championships. The judges will be Martin Plewa (president), Anne-Mette Binder (DEN) und Peter Shaw (AUS), and the FEI Technical Delegate will be Gert Naber (NED). The cross country course designer is Mike Etherington-Smith (GBR), and the show jumping course designer is Marco Behrens (GER).

A total of 100,000 Euro will be awarded, with 70,000 to the individual winner and 30,000 to the first through third placed teams.

Only 35 days now, actually!

Visit the Luhmühlen website here. Go Eventing.