Your Sea Forest Cross Country Guide: Converted Ride Times, Course Maps, How to Watch

Photo by Sally Spickard.

It’s nearly time for the biggest day of our week: cross country day at the Tokyo Olympics! In honor of the best phase of eventing, we thought a guide to all you need to know for today might come in handy for everyone following along. Below you’ll find a full list of converted ride times from Japan Standard Time into British Standard Time, Eastern Standard Time and Pacific Standard Time. We’ll also link to live stream information and give you a few peeks at the course, including some thoughts from U.S. coach Erik Duvander.

Notable Ride Times (Top 5 After Dressage and North American Pairs) – In Order of XC Ride Time

  • Oliver Townend and Ballaghmor Class – 7:48 am JST | 11:48 pm BST | 6:48 pm EST | 3:48 pm PST
  • Doug Payne and Vandiver – 7:51 am JST | 11:51 pm BST | 6:51 pm EST | 3:51 pm PST
  • Alex Hua Tian and Don Geniro – 8:03 am JST | 12:03 am BST | 7:03 pm EST | 4:03 pm PST
  • Julia Krajewski and Amande de B’Neville – 8:24 am JST | 12:24 am BST | 7:24 pm EST | 4:24 pm PST
  • Colleen Loach and Qorry Blue D’Argouges – 8:33 am JST | 12:33 am BST | 7:33 pm EST | 4:33 pm PST
  • Lauren Billys and Castle Larchfield Purdy – 8:39 am JST | 12:39 am BST | 7:39 pm EST | 4:39 pm PST
  • Phillip Dutton and Z – 9:03 am JST | 1:03 am BST | 8:03 pm EST | 5:03 pm PST
  • Boyd Martin and Tsetserleg TSF – 10:14 am JST | 2:15 am BST | 9:15 pm EST | 6:15 pm PST
  • Tim Price and Vitali – 10:45 am JST | 2:24 am BST | 9:48 pm EST | 6:48 pm PST
  • Michael Jung and Chipmunk FRH – 10:48 am JST | 2:51 am BST | 9:51 pm EST | 6:51 pm PST

To view converted ride times for all riders, click here to download our spreadsheet. To view the original start list, click here. To view the start list by team, click here. Live scores will be published here.

Want to follow along with the teams and riders competing? Be sure to use our Form Guides for Teams and Individuals, as well as our Mixed Zone Stories Parts One and Two for some great background information on all of the unique horses and riders leaving the start box tomorrow.

Sea Forest Cross Country Course

Hear from U.S. coach Erik Duvander on what Derek di Grazia has in store for riders tomorrow:

View the map of the cross country course on CrossCountryApp (click the image to view the map, including fence-by-fence photos) – you can also see some more analysis on the course from CrossCountryApp here.

Cross Country Island Life with Derek di Grazia: Read about Derek’s thought process in the five year process to design and build this unique cross country course.

How to Watch

Australia: 7plus has free live streaming and on-demand catch-up options in case you miss anything exciting.

USA: You can stream or rewatch all the Tokyo content your heart desires via the NBC website or app – but only if you have a cable provider login. If you don’t, you can download Peacock Premium ($4.99/month, with a seven day free trial) to access replays and highlights for every sport, and live coverage of several sports (unfortunately not including equestrian). Fubo TV also offers a paid streaming service with a free trial period. You can also sign up to access NBC channels via Sling or YouTube TV, which are easy to use on your smart TV, Roku, or FireStick, but they’ll cost you a bit more – Sling is currently discounted to $10, while YouTube TV is on offer for $54.99/month, with a free trial period, but it does come with lots of cool features.

Canada: The best option is CBC, which has a pretty comprehensive roster of free coverage. Or, you can watch via SportsNet or TSN, both of which have options available for cable subscribers or streamers at $19.99/month each.

U.K. and Ireland: DiscoveryPlus is your best bet for on-demand and live coverage of all the sports, for the low price of £4.99 per month. You can also make use of a three-day free trial. The BBC’s red button service and iPlayer will have some coverage, but they’re limited in what they can show this year. Eurosport is another good option at a comparable price point to DiscoveryPlus.

Europe: It’s Eurosport again, with that cheap and cheerful streaming package.

New Zealand:  You can stream much of the Games for free on TVNZ, or for comprehensive coverage, watch via Sky Sport or its streaming service, Sky Sport Now, which costs $19.99 per week.

Want to access coverage from another country? Consider using a VPN, which effectively changes your country for browsing purposes. We’ve used ExpressVPN successfully – it comes with a free trial and you can also download it as an app, which makes it considerably more user-friendly if you’re not particularly techy.

We’ll be keeping you update on our Instagram throughout the day as well as in our live updates, which will be live closer to start time. Stay tuned for more from Tokyo!

Tokyo 2020 Olympics: Website, EN’s Ultimate Guide to Tokyo 2020, Latest News, Live Scores , XC Start Order, EN Olympic Digest Newsletter Signup, Live Stream Guide, EN’s Instagram, EN’s Twitter

Comments