One Last 5* Hurrah: Your Guide to the 2022 Les 5 Etoiles de Pau

Bubby Upton and Cola III. Photo by Tilly Berendt.

It’s very nearly time to kick off the final 5* of the 2022 season! This week, a total of 52 combinations representing 11 nations will compete for $150,000 in prize money at Les 5 Etoiles de Pau, situated in the south of France not far from the border to Spain. Tilly Berendt’s packed her sparkly cowboy boots and is ready to hit the ground running (scootin’?) this week, and as always you can keep this page bookmarked as we’ll add the latest coverage here throughout the event.

This week’s coverage of Pau on EN is brought to you with the support of Kentucky Performance Products. We couldn’t do much of what we’ve done these last few years without the support of sponsors such as KPP — which, by the way, is a horses-first, women owned and operated company based in, you guessed it, Kentucky — and without you, our readers! So as we head into this final hurrah of our season, too, we thank each and every one of you.

Les 5 Etoiles de Pau: [Website] [Entries] [Schedule] [Timing & Scoring] [H&C+ Live Stream *Use code PAU2022 for 15% of H&C+ Annual!*] [EN’s Coverage] [EN’s Ultimate Guide to Pau] [EN’s Instagram]

The Officials

Sue Baxter (GBR) will preside over this weekend’s Ground Jury, accompanied by Anne-Mette Binder (DEN) and Xavier le Sauce (FRA). Gillian Kyle (IRL) is the Technical Delegate. French designer Pierre Michelet returns once more to design the cross country, and France’s Yann Royant will design the show jumping.

What’s Up for Grabs

Riders will be competing for a prize pot of $150,000 in the final 5* of the 2022 season. The final big points get of the season will also be on the radar for some riders, though World #1 Tim Price, who added a few more points to his pad with his Maryland 5 Star win, does not have a ride here this weekend. World #2 and better half of Team Price, Jonelle, does have one ride in Grappa Nera. Other riders such as Ros Canter (#5) and Tom McEwen (#9) could try for a spot better with strong performances.

How to Follow

Horse & Country has the worldwide live stream for Pau this weekend, and if you don’t already have one you can sign up for an H&C+ subscription to access all phases as well as on demand viewing. If you want to save some dollars, we’re pleased to offer a 15% discount on an annual H&C+ subscription all week using code PAU2022 — just follow this link to sign up and receive the discount! The live stream can be found here.

The Schedule

This week’s schedule is just a tad different than the other 5*s, wherein the first horse inspection will take place Thursday morning at 10 a.m. local time (that’s 4 a.m. EST), followed by the first sessions of dressage Thursday afternoon beginning at 3 p.m. local time / 9 a.m. EST. The schedule (which is subject to change, and we’ll update this post accordingly if and when that happens) is as follows:

THURSDAY OCTOBER 27
10 a.m. local / 6 a.m. EST / 3 a.m. PST – First Horse Inspection
3 p.m. local / 9 a.m. EST / 6 a.m. PST – Dressage

FRIDAY OCTOBER 28
10 a.m. local / 4 a.m. EST / 1 a.m. PST – Dressage

SATURDAY OCTOBER 29
1:00 p.m. local / 7:00 a.m. EST / 4:30 a.m. PST – Cross Country

SUNDAY OCTOBER 30
12:30 p.m. local / 6:30 a.m. EST / 3:30 a.m. PST – Final Horse Inspection
3 p.m. local / 9 a.m. EST / 5 a.m. PST – Show Jumping, followed by Prize Giving

Be sure to follow Les Etoiles de Pau on Facebook and Instagram for more updates!

The Competitors

You can view the full entry list here and our entry preview here. There will be two U.S. representatives this weekend: Caroline Martin and Islandwood Captain Jack as well as Katherine Coleman and RLE Limbo Kaiser.

It’s a delightful field, and it’s truly anyone’s game at this juncture with quite a few pairs more than capable of rising to the occasion to hoist the trophy high on Sunday.

EN’s Coverage

Keep this page bookmarked and refreshed to see the latest coverage here on EN, all brought to you with support from Kentucky Performance Products.

SATURDAY, OCTOBER 30

Like A Fine Wine: Jonelle Price Takes Pau Victory with Grappa Nera
Pau Field Thins by Two at Final Horse Inspection
David Doel Tops New-Look Leaderboard After Action-Packed Pau Cross Country Day

FRIDAY, OCTOBER 28

Luhm├╝hlen Winner Leads Pau After Dressage
Pau Dressage Daze Social Recap
Take a First Look at Pierre Michelet’s Cross Country at Pau

THURSDAY, OCTOBER 27

Pau At-A-Glance: Meet the Riders
La Vie en Ros: Your Day One Pau Dressage Round-up
Top U.S. Contender Out at Les 5 Etoiles de Pau First Horse Inspection
Pau At-A-Glance: Meet the Horses of 2022’s Final 5*

PRE-EVENT COVERAGE

EN’S Ultimate Guide to Pau
A Delightful Pau Entry List to Close Out the 2022 5* Season

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by KPPusa (@kentuckyperformanceproducts)